Share This Article

Federal Universities and their catchment areas

Nigerian Universities And Their Catchment Areas for Admission


Each federal college in Nigeria has its own catchment areas. The catchment areas of a college (note that catchment areas observe to solely federal universities) are these areas (states) that a federal college is geographically linked to.

According to the federal government’s admission policy, if your country of foundation is identified as phase of the catchment vicinity of the federal university you utilized to study, you will stand a better hazard of securing admission into that university than any person else whose state of origin is not recognized as section of the university’s catchment area.


University of Benin (UNIBEN) for instance has Edo, Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Edo, Rivers State as its catchment areas.

Let’s say two candidates apply for medicine and Surgery in University Of Benin, one of them is from Delta State and the other one is from Enugu State.

Let’s anticipate the one from Delta State has a UTME rating of 220 and the one from Enugu has a UTME rating of 245; the one from Delta State will first be viewed for admission in UNIBEN notwithstanding the reality he scored lower than the other one from Enugu State. The purpose is that Delta State is section of UNIBEN’s catchment area.

This is why it is really helpful for candidates to apply for admission to a federal University that has the candidates’ state of
origin as its catchment area.

Some federal universities have chosen states as their catchment areas while some have all the states in Nigeria as their catchment areas.

Let’s seem to be at the listing of Federal Universities and their catchment areas;


University of Jos (UNIJOS): Plateau, Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger

University of Benin (UNIBEN): Edo, Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Rivers

University of Calabar (UNICAL): Cross-Rivers, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Rivers,

University of Lagos (UNILAG): Lagos, Ekiti,, Osun, Oyo, Ondo, Ogun

University of Ilorin (UNILORIN): Kwara, Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Nasarawa, Plareau, Sokoto, Zamfara

University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID): Borno Adamawa, Borno. Bauchi, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe

University of Uyo (UNIUYO): Akwa-Ibom Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Edo, Rivers

Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK): Anambra, Abia, Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi, Imo

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria: Kaduna Adamawa , Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Gombe, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Katsina, Niger, Plateau, Sokoto, Nasarawa, Yobe, Zamfara, Taraba

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU): Bauchi Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe

Bayero University Kano (BUK): Kano, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara

Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA): Ondo, Ekiti, Lagos, Osun, Oyo, Ondo

Federal University of Technology, Minna (FUTMinna): Minna Niger, Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau, Sokoto, Zamfara

Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO): Imo, Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Rivers, Enugu

Federal University of Technology, Yola: Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe

Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) Ife: Osun, Ekiti, Lagos, Osun, Oyo, Ondo

Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto (UDUSOK): Sokoto Jigawa, Kwara, Kebbi, Katsina, Kano, Kano, Kaduna, Nasarawa, Niger, Sokoto, Zamfara

University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN): Enugu Abia, Anambra, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Enugu, Imo, Rivers


University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT)

Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun (FUPRE)

University of Abuja (UNIABUJA)

University of Ibadan (UI)

Michael Okpara University of Agriculture Umudike (MOUAU)

Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi (FUAM)

See also:University Of UYO 2020/2021 Admission List



Share This Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!